Blog

Child Support Guidelines in New Jersey

 

In New Jersey, child support is an issue in cases including children.  The tool used to calculate the child support awards are Child Support Guidelines.  The Guidelines must be used as a rebuttable presumption to establish and modify all child support orders. A rebuttable presumption means that an award pursuant to a guidelines calculation is assumed to be the correct amount of child support.   The exception is when a party proves to the court that circumstances exist that make the calculation inappropriate in a particular case. A court can disregard or adjust a guideline based award if good cause is shown.

Practically speaking, however, most judges use the Child Support Guidelines in establishing or modifying child support.

The main premise of the Child Support Guidelines is that child support is a continuous duty of both parents.  Both parents must share their current income with their children.  As such, child support is based on both parents combined net income.  The Guidelines provide for a weekly sum due for child support taking into consideration the parties income and the number of children involved.

Items included in a child support award

  • housing expenses (e.g., mortgage interest payments, property taxes, expenses for vacation homes, home repairs, computers, luggage.)
  • food (e.g., all food and non-alcoholic beverages purchased for home consumption or purchased away from home, tips, school meals)
  • clothing (e.g., all children’s clothing, foot ware (except special foot ware for sports), diapers, dry cleaning, laundry, watches and jewelry)
  • transportation (e.g., car payments, gas, oil, insurance, maintenance and repairs)
  • unreimbursed health expenses up to $250 per child per year
  • entertainment (e.g., admissions to sports, lessons, instructions, movie rentals, pets, video games)
  • miscellaneous items (e.g., hair care, shaving, cosmetic items).

Other items potentially added to a child support award

  • work-related child care expenses
  • predictable and recurring unreimbursed medical expenses (e.g., braces)
  • other expenses approved by the court (e.g., private school, special needs of gifted or disabled children, horseback riding lessons).

Before child support can be calculated, the parties must first have resolved alimony and parenting time for the non-custodial parent as they are relevant in a child support calculation.

Child support is based on the income of the parties. Therefore, legal issues must be analyzed to determine what income is to be utilized for each party.  Sometimes a parent is unemployed or underemployed or they may have irregular or sporadic income. Sometimes defining income can become a project itself. For W-2 wage earners, however, the Guidelines are relatively simple. In any case, though, because there are so many considerations and factors upon which child support is based, be sure to speak to an attorney who specializes in family/divorce law and/or has experience utilizing the Guidelines so they can walk you through a child support calculation and ensure the correct amount is being paid or received.

Please contact me at jlawrence@lawlawfirm.com if you have questions about this post or any other family law matter.

Back to Blog
SHARE THIS POST:

Related Posts

Blog
What Are Child Support Payments Used For?

What Are Child Support Payments Used For? In 2015, the average amount of child support due from a paying parent was $5,760 annually. For both of the parents, the check is a very significant item in their financial lives. Naturally, each will have questions about this payment since it takes on great importance. Lawyers Are…

Read More
Blog
How to Talk to Your Partner About a Prenuptial Agreement

When polled, 62% of divorce lawyers said they have seen an increase in the number of their clients seeking a prenuptial agreement. However, going from interest to actually having a signed agreement requires a great deal of talking and negotiation. Here is how you should raise the topic of a prenuptial agreement with your partner….

Read More
Blog
What Happens When a Spouse Says No to a Divorce?

While New Jersey has the lowest divorce rate in the country, it does not mean that divorces are easy in the state. Some spouses deliberately make it hard for the other spouse by saying no to everything divorce-related. However, New Jersey has laws to prevent one spouse from taking away the other’s right to get…

Read More
Blog
Preparing for Your Divorce Mediation Session

Up to 80% of divorce cases that go to mediation end successfully with agreements reached throughout the process. Nonetheless, you need to prepare extensively for this process if you want to be successful in resolving issues in your case. Here are some tips on how to ready yourself for mediation. Mediation Can Result in a…

Read More
Blog
How Debt Is Handled During a Divorce

Recent statistics show that the average American household carries roughly $67,000 in consumer debt. This can be a thorny problem when the couple is in the process of getting divorced with a variety of different possible outcomes. In New Jersey, you cannot simply assume that this debt will be divided exactly down the middle. The…

Read More
Blog
What Happens When an Ex-Spouse Breaks the Marital Settlement Agreement?

In 2020, it was estimated that 39% of marriages ended in divorce. If you are someone who went through divorce, you may be struggling with a spouse who fails to abide by your marital settlement agreement. They may fail to make payments for alimony, for example, or they may fail to pay their part of…

Read More

Disclaimer and information can be found here, including links to descriptions and selection methodologies. No aspect of this advertisement has been approved by the Supreme Court of New Jersey.
Call Now ButtonCall Us